Hello world! part 2

This posting is intended to be a brief introduction: why I’m writing this blog and what I hope to accomplish.

Basically I enjoy day-hiking on and exploring the multitude of varied trails in the San Francisco Bay Area and other parts of California (so far, Northern California).  We are very fortunate to have so many ways to enjoy the outdoors in this area, as well as great hiking weather for much of the year.  For the most part I’m hiking for my personal enjoyment – to discover what’s around the next curve in the trail – and to maintain and improve my fitness.

Because I’m goal-oriented, I often identify projects or themes that tie together various activities.  For example, in the summer of 2008 I decided, just for the heck of it, to see how many segments of the Tahoe Rim Trail I could hike as day hikes.  In October 2010 I completed hiking the last segment of this 165-mile trail system!  Even though this “project” is complete, I will share some of my memories of this fantastic experience in future posts.

After I completed hiking the Tahoe Rim Trail, I was almost immediately asked what my next challenge would be.  Well, I knew a little about the Bay Area Ridge Trail, and as I continued to think and read about it, I decided that it would make a challenging but potentially achievable goal.  This trail system currently has about 330 miles of designated trails, with perhaps another 150 miles planned to fill in the many gaps.   I am confident that it will take more than 2 years to hike, even though it is hike-able year-round!

The idea of blogging about hiking the Bay Area Ridge Trail has a couple of origins.  I have been thinking about starting a blog on professional topics, but wanted to try something “safe” first.  When I mentioned to a close friend that I was going to start hiking the Bay Area Ridge Trail, she immediately encouraged me to consider blogging about it.  And since I had seen the movie Julie and Julia, the seeds of a blogging style started to germinate.

Like Julie, I intend to post a blog about each segment that I hike.  I have actually already done a few hikes, and hopefully I will get these posts written and published very soon; I’m still figuring out how to link to web sites and upload photos.  After I catch up I hope to post promptly after each additional hike.  I truly enjoy hiking trails that are new to me, and I would like to share my enthusiasm with others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello world! part 2

  1. Pingback: Bay Area Ridge Trail – introduction | trailhiker

  2. Pingback: Bay Area Ridge Trail – introduction | trailhiker

  3. Pingback: 2015 Summary – numbers and experiences | trailhiker

Leave a Reply

